Where's Allie?

Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see

Day 7 : Whelmed

Leave a comment

“I know you can be overwhelmed, and I know you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?”

That’s how I felt today. The drive was this morning was harrowing, and I was so, so happy to finally make it to the ferry! On the ferry, I ran into my friend Lori, who I was super excited to see again. I’ve already been invited over for dinner next weekend. I got to my apartment, which is exactly like the one I was living in over the summer, so no surprises there, except they it’s obviously empty. My stuff hasn’t shipped from home yet, so I probably won’t be getting anything until mid-November. As soon as my car was unpacked, I decided to go right back into town to get groceries and bits and pieces like a pot and a pan to tide me over until my own stuff gets here. i figured that I would feel better if i could make dinner and muffins. Along the way, I wasn’t feeling lonely or sad or anything, but I was definitely feeling whelmed. I know a few people here, and I’m excited to start work tomorrow, but it’s still a lot to take in and assimilate! And I just drove across the whole country!

And then! Along the way, right in town, a deer crossed the road. And that’s when I remembered how much I love this place. And that on the Sunshine Coast, you don’t need to rush anywhere. So I stopped at the beach on the way to the grocery store

20121014-220251.jpg

Now, I’m sitting in my living room (this is the first time I’ve lived alone in over a year!), eating Thai noodles and watching Friends. Life is pretty good, and I hope you come visit soon!

This’ll be the last road trip post, but I promise to try and post again soon!

Love to all!

Leave a Reply

