Where's Allie?

Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see

Wanderlust

Leave a comment

Ahh, that burning desire to just go. I don’t think I’ll ever lose that. I’m still here for a bit though, so for now, I’ll just have to burn.

“because he had no place he could stay in without getting tired of it and because there was nowhere to go but everywhere, keep rolling under the stars…”
― Jack KerouacOn the Road

“You’re not sorry to go, of course. With people like us our home is where we are not… No one person in the world is necessary to you or to me.”
― 
F. Scott FitzgeraldThis Side of Paradise

“There’s a race of men that don’t fit in,
A race that can’t sit still;
So they break the hearts of kith and kin, And they roam the world at will.
They range the field and rove the flood,
And they climb the mountain’s crest; Their’s is the curse of the gypsy blood,
And they don’t know how to rest.”
― Robert W. Service

“To belong nowhere is a blessing and a curse, like any kind of freedom.”
― Leah StewartThe Myth of You and Me

“The Wanderlust has got me… by the belly-aching fire”
― Robert W. ServiceRhymes of a Rolling Stone

“Nostalgia in reverse, the longing for yet another strange land, grew especially strong in spring.”
― Vladimir NabokovMary

“I love going out of my way, beyond what I know, and finding my way back a few extra miles, by another trail, with a compass that argues with the map…nights alone in motels in remote western towns where I know no one and no one I know knows where I am, nights with strange paintings and floral spreads and cable television that furnish a reprieve from my own biography, when in Benjamin’s terms, I have lost myself though I know where I am. Moments when I say to myself as feet or car clear a crest or round a bend, I have never seen this place before. Times when some architectural detail on vista that has escaped me these many years says to me that I never did know where I was, even when I was home.”
― Rebecca SolnitA Field Guide to Getting Lost

“I think it’s just too tempting to have two lives rather than one. Some people think that too much travel begets infidelity: Separation and opportunity test the bonds of love. I think it’s more likely that people who hate to make choices to settle on one thing or another are attracted to travel. Travel doesn’t beget a double life. The appeal of the double life begets travel.”
― Elisabeth EavesWanderlust: A Love Affair with Five Continents

“A map such as that one is worth many hundreds, and as luck will have it, thousands of dollars. But more than this, it is a remembrance of that time before our planet was so small. When this map was made, I thought, you could live without knowing where you were not living.”
― Jonathan Safran FoerEverything is Illuminated

“That thing the nature of which is totally unknown to you is usually what you need to find, and finding it is a matter of getting lost. The word ‘lost’ comes from the old Norse ‘los’ meaning the disbanding of an army…I worry now that people never disband their armies, never go beyond what they know.

Advertising, alarmist news, technology, incessant busyness, and the design of public and private life conspire to make it so. A recent article about the return of wildlife to suburbia described snow-covered yards in which the footprints of animals are abundant and those of children are entirely absent. Children seldom roam, even in the safest places… I wonder what will come of placing this generation under house arrest.”
― Rebecca SolnitA Field Guide to Getting Lost

“I know what it feels like to imagine going further. To hold that incredible, dangerous thought in my mind, if only for an instant. To think: what if I don’t go home? What if I just keep traveling?”
― Alastair ReynoldsBlue Remembered Earth

 

Leave a Reply

