Where's Allie?

Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see

“Real Beauty” Does Not Come in All Shapes and Sizes

Leave a comment

Only20Something

images

At least according to Dove. I have been seeing the Youtube video “Real Beauty Sketches” ALL OVER Facebook, and it’s really kind of shocking to me how effective these advertisements are in drawing us in. And to prove I’m not talking down to anyone who posted it: I was also slightly touched on my first watch, and it was easy for me to overlook all the problematic aspects as well as forget that I was even watching an ad.

These are the ads to watch out for, the ones that manage to masquerade as simply positive messages instead of actual commercials. If you haven’t had a chance to peep the video yet, press the play button below…

Now, I think we can all agree that the most fundamentally influential part of this advertisement stems from the emotional emphasis on our societal obsession with physical beauty. This is a big issue…

View original post 745 more words

Leave a Reply

