Where's Allie?

Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see

Where to eat in Montreal

1 Comment

There are thousands of food options in Montreal, and here is a short list of my faves – this is where I go every time I go to Montreal. Now, try and be good and spread these out over at least a week. Don’t be like me, and try to do it all in one weekend. I’m still recovering.

Breakfast

L’Avenue
This place doesn’t have a website or a Facebook page, but they don’t need it. The lineup – and the food – speak for themselves. Get here before 9:30 on Saturdays or Sundays if you don’t want to stand outside for half an hour, but I promise that the wait is worth it. Among other things, this place has ridiculous smoothies, eggs benedict and french toast. Bonus: they drop a full can of maple syrup at your table!

19729_10152540907150693_163366545_n

Now, I’d love to recommend more breakfast places, but this is my go-to, every time. I actually went twice last weekend. I used to go to La Grand-Mère Poule, another delicious restaurant, and Bagel St-Viateur is a good place for you to try Montreal bagels (which I don’t actually like!)

Lunch and bites

To be honest, I’m usually so full of breakfast from L’Avenue that I rarely grab lunch in Montreal! Here are a few options… I tried to go to Jarry Smoked Meat after L’Avenue the other day and I just couldn’t handle another bite. I’m still sad.

M4 Burritos
A build your own burrito place, with delicious options like quesadillas, tacos, and salads, with amazing pulled pork and great topping selections. It’s right by Berri-Uqam metro station, so easy to grab a bite on your way to or from anywhere.

Jarry Smoked Meat
A bit out of the way, and tricky to get to by public transit, but oh-so worth it! Montreal is well known for its smoked meat, and this place just can’t be beat. The juiciest, most delicious smoked meat you’ll ever have.

Dinner

I’m only ever in Montreal for a few days at a time, and by the time I get there, I miss my old favourites, so my plans never vary very much. Unmissables include:

Poutineville
My favourite, favourite, favourite place. When I was in Mali last year, this place is all I could think about. They have the most amazing make your own poutine menu, which includes 8 kinds of cheese, 10 kinds of vegetables, 10 kinds of meat, and four kinds of sauce. They recently won Montreal’s Poutine Week contest, with a mouthwatering General Tao poutine. Don’t miss this place (they have three locations, so no excuses!), but just make sure that you have nothing planned afterwards! You’ll need a long walk, and then you’ll need to lie down.

Chez Chine
Ok, this is a random one. This restaurant is located in the Holiday Inn in Chinatown. I go here every time I come to Montreal, for one reason only – they have crispy duck pancakes. Everything else is over priced, and not necessarily delicious. But the duck… oh the duck pancakes! If ever you’re craving them (or wondering what they are), this is the place to go.

Maria Bonita
This is the place to go for delicious, authentic mexican food in Montreal. The owner has dedicated his life to finding the best product, to create dishes that taste like you’re in Mexico.

Dessert

Finally, my favourite category!

Rockaberry
Do not, do not, do not miss this place. Giant, fluffy cheesecakes in so many flavours (highlights include caramel fudge, oreo, and apple crumble cheesecake), as well as amazing crumbles. I think that I’ve said it all. Go, go now.

Juliette et Chocolat
All chocolate, all delicious.

Dr. Frost
Like Marble Slab or Cold Stone, but cheaper, and more delicious. Plus, the actual shop is super fun.

 

I hope that this list helps you decide where to go next! I just got back from Montreal, and I’m already looking forward to my next trip there…

 

One thought on “Where to eat in Montreal

  1. Pingback: m4burritos | M4 Burritos

Leave a comment