Where's Allie?

Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see

Travel Tuesday

2 Comments

This week, I’ve been lucky enough to discover the world while staying at home.

The YMCA has a great program called the Youth Peace Network – every year, a dozen or so volunteers from around the world come and spend a summer in Vancouver to learn about Canada, and share their culture with us. I got to spend the last week with these wonderful people, from Kenya, Ukraine, Argentina, China, Brazil, Czech Republic, Zambia, Mexico, Senegal, Egypt, Belarus, Hong Kong and Colombia, and I’m excited to get to know them better as the summer progresses. I’ve learned a couple new words (my favourite so far is shlopentcy, Russian for flip flop), and made new friends that I will surely visit on my RTW trip!

1011807_10151721529706449_687322606_n

2 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Time to dust off the old blog… | Where's Alex?

  2. Pingback: On being impulsive and deciding to go to Ukraine | Where's Alex?

Leave a Reply

